Alison’s Blog #1: Hello from the ISAS basement!

Hello everyone and welcome to my very first Intern Blog post!Alison photo

I’m delighted to join the ISAS team for the next year, as International Student Support Intern. It’s an exciting time in the office, with lots of new ideas and projects underway for 2015. As mentioned in the last ISAS blog post, part of my role will be to contribute to our team’s blog, Facebook and Twitter accounts. I will also be using this Intern Blog as a diary of sorts, to offer a glimpse into life in our busy office!

Over the last couple of weeks I’ve had the opportunity to meet staff, students and volunteers from across the University. I’ve met with members of the International Student Centre and Women’s Club to get a feel for the amazing services and activities they offer international students and their families. I’m looking forward to working closely with these and other organisations and University departments, throughout the year.

Staff Away Day

In November, we had our first staff away day as a newly formed team. The venue was Edinburgh Zoo, so amongst all the planning for an exciting year ahead, we had the opportunity to look around and even met some of the animals up close! My personal highlights were meeting an armadillo and getting a glimpse of the famous pandas.

Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving

Euan, Erika and I went along to this year’s Thanksgiving event at The Chaplaincy which was a great opportunity to meet students and staff. Students from all backgrounds came together, shared food and enjoyed music from the Revelation Rock Gospel Choir. I particularly liked the “What are you thankful for?” post-it display which was created throughout the course of the evening.

Gather 2015

After the success of last year’s festival, Gather is back again in March 2015. I attended my first Gather planning meeting this week and I’m really looking forward to working with staff and students to help organise some exciting new events! More information will be posted nearer the time at: https://gatheruoe.wordpress.com/

Keep an eye out for regular Intern Blog posts and in the meantime check out our Facebook page for updates on our latest activities and events taking place at the University and across the city. https://www.facebook.com/edinburghuniversityinternational

Alison

Categories: University Life

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

1 reply

  1. Valuable information. Lucky me I discovered your
    web site by accident, and I’m surprised why this twist of fate didn’t happened earlier!
    I bookmarked it.

Leave a Reply

